Rooms for the PackVerified hotel policies for big dogs & multi-dog families

Pet policy · Checked Oct 29, 2026

Choice Hotels pet policy: Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, Sleep Inn, Econo Lodge and more

Short answer: Choice Hotels doesn't have one pet policy with fixed numbers. The brand pages for Comfort, Quality Inn, Sleep Inn, Econo Lodge, Rodeway and Clarion all say up to 2 pets, and a nightly fee for each pet; most also mention a per-pet weight limit that each hotel sets. Large dogs need the hotel's approval before you arrive. At the 17 hotels we checked, fees ran from $10 to $35 per pet, per night (some charge per stay), and weight limits from 25 lb to 100 lb. Two Quality Inns list no weight limit. Check the hotel's own page before you book.

Choice Hotels at a glance

Choice Hotels (brand-wide)

Set by each hotel
Max pets / room
2 on every brand pet page we read. Hotels we checked: 2 (one allows 1)
3+ dogs?
Not offered. Brand pages cap pets at 2. Not stated — call property for exceptions
Weight limit
No brand-wide number. Hotels we checked: 25–100 lb; two list no limit
Large dogs
Need the hotel’s approval before arrival or booking (brand pages)
Fee
Brand pages: a nightly fee for each pet. MainStay FAQ: $10–$75 nightly, or a flat fee. Hotels we checked: mostly $10–$35 per pet, per night
Deposit
Varies. Four hotels we checked list a refundable deposit of $20–$100
Breed limits
“May apply” (Comfort, Quality, Econo Lodge); Sleep Inn and Rodeway pages say the policy has breed restrictions. Which breeds: Not stated — call property
House rules
No pets on beds; common areas off-limits (most brand pages)
Leaving pets alone
Not stated — call property
Service animals
Every hotel page we checked: permitted without charge. Emotional support animals: Not stated — call property
Which hotels?
Participating hotels only. Choice cites 2,500+ (MainStay FAQ) and 3,500+ (extended-stay pet page) pet-friendly hotels

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See official Comfort pet policySee official Quality Inn pet policy

Brand by brand

What Choice’s own brand pet pages say, quoted closely. Every one leaves the fee and weight limit to each hotel. None of the brand pet pages lists a fee amount or a weight; only Choice’s MainStay FAQ gives a fee range.

Comfort Inn & Comfort Suites

2 pets, limits vary
Pets accepted?
At participating hotels. “Pet policies vary by hotel”
Number of pets
Up to 2
Weight limit
“A maximum weight per pet” (amount not stated)
Fee
“A nightly fee applies to each pet” (amount not stated)
Large dogs
Need approval before arrival
Breeds
“Breed and pet restrictions may apply”
House rules
No pets on beds; common areas off-limits to pets

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See official Comfort pet policy

Quality Inn

2 pets, limits vary
Number of pets
Two
Weight limit
“A maximum weight per pet” (amount not stated)
Fee
Nightly fee for each pet (amount not stated)
Large dogs
Need approval before arrival
Breeds
“Breed and pet restrictions may apply”
House rules
No pets on beds; common areas off-limits

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See official Quality Inn pet policy

Sleep Inn

2 pets, limits vary
Number of pets
Two
Weight limit
“A maximum weight per pet” (amount not stated)
Fee
Nightly fee for each pet (amount not stated)
Large dogs
Need approval before booking
Breeds
The page says the policy comes “with breed restrictions” (which breeds: Not stated — call property)
House rules
No pets on beds; certain common areas may be off-limits

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See official Sleep Inn pet policy

Econo Lodge

2 pets, limits vary
Pets accepted?
At “hundreds of participating” hotels
Number of pets
“A maximum of two pets”
Weight limit
“Weight restrictions may apply”
Fee
Nightly fee for each pet (amount not stated)
Large dogs
Need approval before booking
Breeds
“Dog breed restrictions may apply”

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See official Econo Lodge pet policy

Rodeway Inn

2 pets, limits vary
Pets accepted?
“More than 350 pet-friendly hotels”
Number of pets
Maximum two
Weight limit
“A maximum weight per pet” (amount not stated)
Fee
Nightly fee for each pet (amount not stated)
Large dogs
Need approval before booking
Breeds
The page says “with breed restrictions” (which breeds: Not stated — call property)
House rules
No pets on beds

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See official Rodeway Inn pet policy

Clarion

2 pets, limits vary
Pets accepted?
At participating hotels
Number of pets
Up to two
Weight limit
Not stated — call property
Fee
Nightly fee for each pet; “varies at each Clarion location”
Large dogs / certain breeds
Need approval before arrival
House rules
No pets on beds; common areas off-limits

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See official Clarion pet policy

Extended stay: MainStay, Suburban, WoodSpring, Everhome

Set by each hotel
Pets accepted?
“Many of our extended stay hotels are pet-friendly” (Choice extended-stay pet page)
Brand-wide fee / weight / number
Not stated — call property. MainStay FAQ: some hotels charge pet deposits, a nightly surcharge of $10–$75, or a flat surcharge; breed or size limits may apply
WoodSpring
FAQ: pet pricing, breed rules, weight and number of animals “vary by location and are set and enforced by the management for each hotel.” Service animals free at all locations; tell the front desk at check-in

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

Choice extended-stay pet pageWoodSpring FAQ

Big dogs at Choice hotels

Choice doesn't publish a brand-wide weight limit. Most brand pages say each hotel sets a per-pet weight limit (Clarion's doesn't mention weight), and the Comfort, Quality, Sleep Inn, Econo Lodge, Rodeway and Clarion pages all say large dogs need the hotel's approval first: before arrival at Comfort, Quality and Clarion, before booking at Sleep Inn, Econo Lodge and Rodeway.

The limits we found ran from 25 lb to 100 lb, and two Quality Inn hotels list no weight or size limit. For a big dog, the hotel matters far more than the brand:

Most pages give one weight without saying whether it's per pet or combined. Cambria Plano Frisco says 75 lb total; Sleep Inn Minot and Comfort Rome South say per pet. Comfort Rome South will consider dogs over its 30 lb limit with the manager's approval, for an extra charge it doesn't state.

Compare Choice with chains that have higher or no limits in hotels that allow large dogs.

Traveling with 3 or more dogs?

Every Choice brand pet page we read caps pets at two per room, and every hotel we checked that lists a number says 2 or fewer (MainStay Fitchburg allows 1). We found no Choice hotel that lists 3 pets. For three or more dogs, see hotel chains that allow 3 or more dogs.

How Choice pet fees work

Each hotel sets its own fee. The brand pages for Comfort, Quality, Sleep Inn, Econo Lodge, Rodeway and Clarion all say a nightly fee applies to each pet. Choice's MainStay FAQ says fees can be a pet deposit, a nightly surcharge of $10 to $75, or a flat surcharge. At the hotels we checked, fees came in three shapes:

Four hotels also list a refundable pet deposit of $20–$100 (Sleep Inn Lufkin, Rodeway Jacksboro, Econo Lodge Jennings, MainStay Fitchburg). Our arithmetic, before tax:

Because most fees are per pet, a second dog usually doubles the cost. Ask the hotel if the page doesn't say.

What 17 Choice hotels actually list

Each Choice hotel lists its pet rules under “Pets” in the Essential details section of its official page (WoodSpring: “Pet Policy” on woodspring.com). These are property-specific examples read on Oct 29, 2026, quoted as the hotels write them, sorted from highest weight limit to lowest. They are not brand rules.

Quality Inn & Suites St Augustine Beach Area, FL (property-specific)

No weight limit listed
Fee
$25 per night, per pet
Pets
Maximum 2 per room
Weight
“No weight limit”

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Quality Inn & Suites Green Bay - Ashwaubenon, WI (property-specific)

No size limit listed
Fee
$30 per pet per night
Pets
Dogs only; maximum 2 per room
Weight
“No limit on the Size of the Pet”

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Rodeway Inn, Jacksboro, TX (property-specific)

100 lb
Fee
$10 per pet, per night, plus a $30 refundable deposit per stay
Pets
2 per room; the page lists “Dog Friendly Only”
Weight
Max 100 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Sleep Inn Lufkin, TX (property-specific)

80 lb
Fee
$20 per pet, per night, plus a $20 refundable deposit
Pets
Dogs only; maximum 2 per room
Weight
“Pet limit size is 80 pounds”

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Cambria Hotel Plano Frisco, TX (property-specific)

75 lb combined
Fee
$85 plus tax per stay, non-refundable. The page says stays of more than 7 days are charged $75 plus tax per stay
Pets
Dogs and cats only; maximum 2 per room
Weight
75 lb total for all pets

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Sleep Inn Provo near University, UT (property-specific)

65 lb
Fee
$20 per night, per pet
Pets
2 per room
Weight
Maximum 65 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Comfort Inn & Suites Oxford South, NC (property-specific)

50 lb, dogs only
Fee
$35 per pet, per night
Pets
Dogs only; maximum 2; only in approved 2-queen rooms on the first floor
Weight
Maximum 50 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Sleep Inn & Suites Conference Center and Water Park, Minot, ND (property-specific)

50 lb each
Fee
$30 per pet, per stay. (The Sleep Inn brand page says a nightly fee applies, so ask)
Pets
Limit 2; specific rooms only
Weight
50 lb per pet

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Econo Lodge Jennings, FL (property-specific)

50 lb
Fee
$25 per pet, per night, plus a $50 refundable deposit per stay
Pets
2 per room
Weight
Max 50 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Econo Lodge Duluth near Miller Hill Mall, MN (property-specific)

50 lb
Fee
$20 per night, per pet. The page also says a “non-refundable deposit is required” without giving an amount, so ask
Pets
“Midsize domestic animal”; maximum 2 per room
Weight
Maximum 50 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

WoodSpring Suites Atlanta McDonough, GA (property-specific)

50 lb, no cats
Fee
1–6 nights: $25 per night. 7–27 days: $50 per week. 28+ nights: $100 per month. (Per pet or per room: Not stated — call property)
Pets
Max 2 per room; no cats
Weight
Max pet size 50 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Cambria Hotel Burbank Airport, CA (property-specific)

40 lb, dogs only
Fee
$150 per pet, per stay
Pets
Dogs only; 2 per room
Weight
“2 Pet Per Room for 40 pounds” (per pet or combined: Not stated — call property)

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

MainStay Suites Fitchburg - Madison, WI (property-specific)

1 dog, 40 lb
Fee
$25 per pet, per night, plus a $100 refundable deposit per stay
Pets
1 pet per room; dogs only, no cats
Weight
Max 40 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Comfort Inn & Suites Rome South, GA (property-specific)

30 lb (more with approval)
Fee
$30 per pet, per night
Pets
2 per room
Weight
30 lb each. Over 30 lb needs the manager’s approval and “will be charge extra” (amount: Not stated — call property)

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Suburban Studios Mentor - Cleveland Northeast, OH (property-specific)

30 lb
Fee
$10 per night (per pet or per room: Not stated — call property)
Pets
2 per room
Weight
Max 30 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Quality Inn Port Orchard, WA (property-specific)

25 lb
Fee
$25 per pet, per night
Pets
2 per room; the page lists “Dog Friendly Only”
Weight
Max 25 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Chamblee, GA (property-specific)

25 lb
Fee
$25 per day, up to $125 total
Pets
Number: Not stated — call property. The Pets field on the page is blank (“*”); these details are only in the hotel alerts
Weight
25 lb

Checked Oct 29, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Service animals

Every Choice hotel page we checked says “Service animals are permitted, without charge.” WoodSpring's FAQ says assistance and service animals are welcome at no extra charge at all its locations, and asks you to tell the front desk at check-in. None of the pages we read say how emotional support animals are treated, so ask the hotel.

Before you book

Where each fact comes from

All checked Oct 29, 2026, read directly on Choice Hotels’ own websites (choicehotels.com and woodspring.com) with an automated page reader. No search-engine copies were used for any fact on this page.

Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.