Kimpton (IHG)
Big-dog friendly- Weight limit
- No size/weight limit (brand policy)
Checked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyPet policy · Checked Oct 22, 2026
Short answer: Kimpton has no size or weight limit, and Sonesta has no brand-wide weight restriction (individual hotels can set one). Red Roof and Best Western allow dogs up to 80 lb each; Motel 6 allows 150 lb combined. Drury and Hyatt Place are the tightest of the chains we checked.
Sorted from most to least big-dog friendly. Each link goes to the chain's own policy.
| Chain | Big dogs? | Weight / size limit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kimpton (IHG) | Big-dog friendly | No size/weight limit (brand policy) | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Sonesta (incl. Red Lion) | Large OK with limits | No breed or weight restrictions (brand policy); individual hotels vary, e.g. Hilton Head: 40 lb | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Four Seasons | Large OK with limits | At hotels checked: SF none · Whistler any size · LA 60 lb each | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Motel 6 | Large OK with limits | Combined max 150 lb for 2 pets | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Red Roof | Large OK with limits | 80 lb per pet | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Best Western | Large OK with limits | 80 lb per dog | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Extended Stay America | Large OK with limits | Max 36 in long / 36 in tall; larger needs approval | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| La Quinta | Not stated | Select locations may have one; call | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Comfort (Choice) | Not stated | A per-pet max applies (amount not stated); large dogs need approval before arrival | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Aloft (Marriott) | Tighter limits | 25–80 lb, varies by hotel (4 hotels checked) | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Drury | Tighter limits | Combined max 80 lb | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Hyatt Place | Tighter limits | Each dog 50 lb or under; combined max 75 lb (one hotel's document) | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
| Hilton brands | Not stated | Not stated — call property | Official policy Checked Oct 22, 2026 |
Checked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policyChecked Oct 22, 2026 on the official site
See official policy"80 lb per dog" (Red Roof, Best Western) means two 75 lb dogs are fine. "80 lb combined" (Drury) means they aren't. Motel 6 uses 150 lb combined; Hyatt Place (per one hotel's document) uses 50 lb per dog and 75 lb combined.
Traveling with three or more dogs? See hotel chains that allow 3 or more dogs.
Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.