Extended Stay America pet policy: fees, size limit and number of dogs
Short answer: Extended Stay America allows 2 pets per suite. There's no weight limit in the official policy; instead, each pet can be no longer than 36 inches and no taller than 36 inches. Bigger dogs or a third dog need the property manager's approval. The fee is up to $25 per pet per night for the first 6 nights, then up to $15 per pet per night, plus tax.
Extended Stay America at a glance
Extended Stay America (all brands)
With approval
Max pets / suite
2
3+ dogs?
Possible with the property manager's approval. Call the hotel first
Weight limit
None stated. Size limit instead: max 36 in long and 36 in tall per pet
Bigger dogs?
Larger animals need the property manager's approval
Fee
Up to $25/night per pet (+tax) for nights 1–6, then up to $15/night per pet (+tax). Non-refundable cleaning fee
Fee cap
Not stated — call property
Deposit
Not stated — call property
Breed limits
Not stated — call property
Leaving pets alone
Allowed if crated the whole time (not shut in the bathroom) and not barking enough to disturb others
Service animals
Exempt from the pet fee
Brands
Same policy shown for all; Select Suites and Premier Suites say every hotel has pet-friendly rooms
Extended Stay America doesn't set a weight limit. Its rule is about size: each pet can be no longer than 36 inches and no taller than 36 inches. A dog outside that size isn't automatically turned away. The policy says larger animals need the property manager's approval.
The policy doesn't say how to measure. Before you call, have each dog's height, length and weight ready to give the hotel.
Traveling with 3 or more dogs?
Two pets per suite is the standard, but the official policy says more than two pets requires the property manager's approval. That makes Extended Stay America one of the few chains in our 3-dog comparison where a third dog is possible. Call the specific hotel, not central reservations, and get the approval in writing.
What the pet fee adds up to
The fee is charged per pet, per night, and it isn't refundable. The official amounts are maximums ("up to"), and the FAQ says pet fees vary by location. Here's our arithmetic at the maximum rate, before tax:
1 dog, 3 nights: up to $75
2 dogs, 3 nights: up to $150
2 dogs, 10 nights: up to $420 (6 nights at $25 plus 4 nights at $15, for each dog)
For stays of 6 nights or less, the whole pet fee is due at check-in. For 7 nights or more, the first 7 nights are due at check-in, then each 7 nights after that. You're also responsible for any damage your pet causes; paying the fee doesn't cover that.
Before you book
Call the specific hotel if you have a third dog or a dog over 36 inches long or tall, and ask for the manager's approval in writing.
Ask the actual nightly pet fee. $25 and $15 are maximums, and fees vary by location.
Ask about breed rules and deposits. The official policy doesn't mention either.
Bring a crate if you'll leave your dog in the suite. Unattended pets must be crated.
Using a service animal? It's exempt from the pet fee.
Where each fact comes from
All checked Oct 23, 2026 on Extended Stay America's own website.
2 pets per suite, 36 in size limit, manager approval for more or larger pets, fee amounts and timing, service animals exempt: Pet-friendly hotels page
Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.