Kimpton pet policy: fees, weight limits and number of dogs
Short answer: Kimpton's official brand policy is no pet fee, no deposit, no size or weight limit and no limit on the number of pets, “no matter their size, weight, or breed.” That's the most generous policy of any chain we've checked. But individual hotels can list their own rules: Kimpton Era Midtown in New York lists 2 pets, so check the specific hotel before you book.
Kimpton at a glance
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants (IHG)
No limits (brand policy)
Max pets / room
No limit on number of pets (brand policy)
3+ dogs?
Yes, per the brand policy. Some hotels list a lower limit; see examples below
Weight / size limit
No size/weight limit
Breed limits
None in the brand policy: pets welcome “no matter their size, weight, or breed”
Fee
No additional charge for pets
Deposit
No deposit required
Kinds of pets
“Furry, feathery or scaly” (cats, dogs and others)
Leaving pets alone
Brand page doesn't say. Not stated — call property (two LA hotels we checked say no)
The brand page lists these extras. Availability can vary, and the wine reception is at select hotels only.
Plush pet-bed loaners in your room, plus food and water bowls and mats
A concierge list of nearby pet-friendly restaurants, parks, groomers and pet boutiques
A door hanger that tells staff and other guests a pet is in the room
Courtesy bags for walking your dog
A nightly wine reception that pets can join, at select hotels
Hotel by hotel: what we found
The brand policy is the starting point, but each Kimpton hotel has its own pet details on its official page. These are property-specific examples, not brand rules. We checked them Oct 24, 2026.
Kimpton Harper Hotel, Fort Worth TX (property-specific)
The brand page says there's no size or weight limit: “If your pet fits through the door, we’ll welcome them in.” Every U.S. hotel page we checked matched that on weight. Compare Kimpton with other chains in hotels that allow large dogs.
Traveling with 3 or more dogs?
Kimpton is the only chain in our 3-dog comparison whose brand policy says there's no limit on the number of pets. Hotel pages don't all match it, though. Kimpton Era Midtown in New York lists 2 pets allowed. Call the hotel you want, tell them how many dogs you're bringing and how much each weighs, and ask them to note it on your reservation.
Can you leave your dog in the room?
The brand page doesn't say. Two Los Angeles hotels, Kimpton La Peer and Kimpton Everly, say on their own pages that pets can't be left unattended, and both offer to put you in touch with local pet sitters. Plan on the same rule elsewhere unless the hotel tells you otherwise.
Before you book
Check the hotel's own pet details on its ihg.com page or call it. Some hotels list limits the brand page doesn't.
Tell the hotel how many dogs you're bringing and how much each weighs, especially for 3 or more.
Ask whether you can leave your dog in the room. The brand page doesn't say, and the hotels we checked that answer say no.
Using a service animal? Kimpton's pet page doesn't mention service animals, so ask the hotel.
Where each fact comes from
All checked Oct 24, 2026 on Kimpton's official pages on ihg.com and on Kimpton hotels' own websites.
Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.