Marriott pet policy: Residence Inn, TownePlace, Element, Aloft and more
Short answer: Marriott doesn't have one brand-wide pet policy. Marriott says fees, weight limits and the number of pets are set by each hotel, even within the same brand. At the 14 hotels we checked, the usual rule was 2 pets max and a non-refundable fee of $50–$150 per stay. Weight limits ran from 35 lb to 100 lb. For big dogs, Residence Inn had the highest limits we found (100 lb at two hotels). Element's brand page caps dogs at 40 lb. Check the hotel's own page before you book.
Marriott at a glance
Marriott Bonvoy (brand-wide)
Set by each hotel
Max pets / room
No brand-wide limit published. Every hotel we checked: 2 (one allows 1)
3+ dogs?
Not offered at any hotel we checked. Not stated — call property
Weight limit
No brand-wide limit (Element's brand page says 40 lb). Hotels we checked: 35–100 lb
Fee
Set by each hotel. Hotels we checked: $50–$150 per stay, or $50/night (some capped at $150), non-refundable
Deposit
Not stated — call property
Breed limits
Not stated — call property
Kinds of pets
Varies: some hotels take dogs only, others dogs and cats or “all domestic pets”
Leaving pets alone
Not stated — call property
Service animals
Not considered pets. Hotel pages: welcome without a fee or documentation. Emotional support animals: Not stated — call property
Which hotels?
Only participating hotels. Residence Inn: dogs and cats at 700+ locations
What Marriott’s own brand pages say. Only Element states a weight limit, and one Element hotel lists a higher one. Fees and pet limits are set hotel by hotel.
Residence Inn by Marriott
700+ hotels take pets
Pets accepted?
Dogs and cats “at 700+ locations” (brand page). It doesn’t say all hotels
Brand-wide fee / weight / number
Not stated — call property
Hotels we checked
2 pets max at all 4. Weight limits: 100 lb at two; Billings lists both 100 lb and 65 lb; not listed at one
Marriott doesn't publish a brand-wide weight limit, and the limits we found ran from 35 lb to 100 lb. For a big dog, the brand matters less than the hotel. The two hotels listing 100 lb were both Residence Inns (Oklahoma City Northwest and Bozeman Downtown). Aloft Tulsa takes dogs under 80 lb. Most of the TownePlace, Element, Fairfield and Courtyard hotels we checked stopped at 35–50 lb.
Element is the one brand that states a limit on its own page: dogs up to 40 lb. Element Las Vegas Airport lists 50 lb, so ask the hotel rather than assume.
Marriott's hotel pages list one “maximum pet weight,” and the FAQ on each page reads it as “each pet may weigh up to” that amount. None of the pages we checked describes it as a combined limit. Some pages contradict themselves, though. Residence Inn Billings says 100 lb in one place and 65 lb in another.
Marriott doesn't set a brand-wide pet limit, but every hotel we checked lists 2 pets max, and TownePlace Suites Phoenix Chandler allows only 1. For three or more dogs, see hotel chains that allow 3 or more dogs.
How Marriott pet fees work
Each hotel sets its own fee, and every fee we found was non-refundable. They came in three shapes:
Flat per stay: $50 to $150, whatever the length of stay (Residence Inn, TownePlace, Fairfield, Courtyard Oklahoma City, Aloft Tulsa)
Per night, with a cap: $50 a night up to $150 per stay (Element Sedona, Aloft Tempe)
Per stay plus per night: $75 + $20/night in Bozeman; $100 + $20/day in Bakersfield
Element Las Vegas Airport lists $50 a night with no cap on its page. Our arithmetic, before tax:
5 nights at a $150 per-stay hotel: $150
5 nights at Element Sedona or Aloft Tempe: $150 (the cap kicks in on night 3)
5 nights at Residence Inn Bozeman: $175 ($75 + 5 × $20)
5 nights at Element Las Vegas Airport: $250 (no cap listed)
Several pages say the fee is “per room,” so a second dog doesn't double it there. Others don't say whether it's per room or per pet, so ask if you're bringing two dogs.
What 14 Marriott hotels actually list
Each Marriott hotel shows its rules in the “Pet Policy” part of the Hotel Information section on its official marriott.com page. These are property-specific examples read on Oct 27, 2026, quoted as the hotels write them, sorted from highest weight limit to lowest. They are not brand rules.
Residence Inn Oklahoma City Northwest, OK (property-specific)
Marriott's pet-friendly page says service animals “are accommodated in accordance with applicable laws and are not considered pets,” and that this applies across its whole portfolio. Every hotel page we checked lists “Service Animals are welcome without a fee or documentation” under its accessible features. The pages don't say how emotional support animals are treated, so ask the hotel.
Before you book
Open the hotel’s own marriott.com page and read “Pet Policy” under Hotel Information. That’s where the fee, weight and pet limit are.
Read both the policy text and the number fields. They don’t always match (Residence Inn Billings). If they differ, call the hotel.
Check whether the fee is per stay or per night, and whether it’s per room or per pet.
Don’t assume a brand takes big dogs. Element’s brand page says 40 lb; some TownePlace hotels stop at 35 lb.
Ask whether you can leave your dog in the room. None of the pages we checked say.
Using a service animal? Hotel pages say no fee and no documentation.
Where each fact comes from
All checked Oct 27, 2026, read directly on Marriott’s own websites (marriott.com and Marriott brand sites) with an automated page reader. No search-engine copies were used. Marriott’s site refused plain downloads (403), but the pages loaded normally through the page reader.
Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.