Rooms for the PackVerified hotel policies for big dogs & multi-dog families

Pet policy · Checked Nov 3, 2026

Hotel pet fees compared by chain

Short answer: Kimpton and Motel 6 charge no pet fee brand-wide. Only two chains publish a cap: La Quinta ($25 a night, max $75 per room per stay, and only if the hotel charges it) and Red Roof (first pet free, extra pets $15 a night, max $105 per pet for 7+ nights). Drury (from $50 a day) and Choice’s Comfort and Quality Inn (nightly, per pet) state no cap. Hilton, Marriott, IHG, Sonesta and others leave fees to each hotel. In the hotel examples we priced, pet fees for two dogs for 7 nights ranged from $50 to $1,400.

At a glance

Four groups, based on what each chain’s own pet page says on Nov 3, 2026.

No pet fee (brand-wide)

Kimpton · Motel 6

Kimpton: no charge, no deposit. Motel 6: up to 2 pets stay free.

Published cap

La Quinta · Red Roof Inn

La Quinta: optional $25 a night, max $75 per room per stay. Red Roof: first pet free; $15 a night for each extra pet, max $105 per pet for 7+ nights.

Nightly fee, no cap stated

Drury · Comfort & Quality Inn (Choice)

Drury: at least $50 a day (varies by hotel). Comfort and Quality Inn: “a nightly fee applies to each pet,” amount set by each hotel.

Set by each hotel

Hilton · Marriott · IHG · Sonesta · Loews · WoodSpring · Four Seasons

No brand-wide fee. Hotels in these chains charge per night, per stay, or in tiers by length of stay. Examples below.

Not checked today: Best Western, Extended Stay America, Hyatt

These sites blocked our automated page reader on Nov 3, 2026, so we couldn’t re-read their official pet pages. We left them out of the groups above: Not stated — call property. Open the official page in your browser or call the hotel. (Our earlier guides: Best Western, Extended Stay America.)

Four questions that decide what you pay

Two hotels can both say “$75 pet fee” and charge very different totals. These are the parts of a fee that change the bill.

Per night or per stay?

A nightly fee grows with every night. A per-stay fee is charged once. Some hotels use tiers: Hilton hotels we checked charge $75 for 1–4 nights and $125 for 5+.

Per pet or per room?

With two dogs, a per-pet fee doubles. Red Roof, Comfort and Quality Inn say per pet. La Quinta says per room. Many hotel pages don’t say.

Is there a cap?

Only La Quinta ($75 per stay) and Red Roof ($105 per extra pet for 7+ nights) publish a brand-wide cap. Some hotels set their own, like Sonesta Hilton Head ($300 per stay).

Fee or deposit?

A fee is kept. A refundable deposit comes back if there’s no damage. Some hotel pages use both words for the same charge, so ask which it is.

What two dogs cost: 3 nights vs 7 nights

Our arithmetic, before tax, using each fee exactly as the official page states it on Nov 3, 2026. Hotel rows are property-specific examples, not brand rules. Where a page doesn’t say whether the fee is per pet or per room, we show the per-room total and flag it.

Pet fees for two dogs, 3 nights and 7 nights
Brand or hotelHow the fee works3 nights7 nights
Kimpton (brand)No fee$0$0
Motel 6 (brand)Up to 2 pets free$0$0
Sleep Inn Minot, ND$30 per pet, per stay; 50 lb per pet$60$60
La Quinta (brand)$25/night per room, max $75 per stay (optional)$75$75
Sonesta ES Suites Orlando, FL$75 for stays up to 7 nights; $150 longer$75if per room$75if per room
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street, TN$75 for 1–4 nights; $125 for 5+$75if per room$125if per room
Red Roof (brand)1st pet free; 2nd $15/night, max $105$45$105
Marriott Owings Mills Metro Centre, MD$125 per stay for up to 4 days, then $20/day$125if per room$185if per room
WoodSpring Suites Atlanta McDonough, GA$25/night for 1–6 nights; $50/week for 7–27 days$75if per room$50if per room
Homewood Suites Edgewater-NYC Area, NJ$75 (1–4 nights), $125 (5+), per pet$150$250
Quality Inn & Suites St Augustine Beach Area, FL$25 per night, per pet$150$350
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, SC$100/day, up to $300 per stay; dogs up to 40 lb$300if per room$300if per room
Drury (brand)At least $50/day (“rooms with pets”)$150+$350+
Red Lion St. George, UT (Sonesta)$100 per pet, per night$600$1,400

What stands out: per-stay and capped fees barely move between 3 and 7 nights, while per-pet nightly fees add up fast. At WoodSpring McDonough, a 7-night stay costs less in pet fees than a 6-night stay ($50 vs $150) because the weekly rate kicks in at 7 nights. Hampton Memphis, Owings Mills, Orlando and Hilton Head don’t say whether the fee is per pet: if it is, double those numbers. Weight limits still apply, so check them first (see hotels that allow large dogs).

Chain by chain: how each brand says it charges

Quoted or closely paraphrased from each chain’s own pet page, re-read Nov 3, 2026. Sorted from no fee to fee.

Kimpton (IHG)

No fee, no deposit
Fee
“No additional charge for pets, no deposit required”
Per pet or per room
Doesn’t apply; no fee and “no limit on number of pets allowed”
Cap / deposit
None

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official Kimpton pet policy

Motel 6

Free, up to 2 pets
Fee
FAQ: “Motel 6 does not charge any pet fees.” Up to two pets per room stay free
Which hotels?
The page says “every location”; the FAQ says “all participating Motel 6 locations.” Ask the hotel
Deposit
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official Motel 6 pet policy

Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+

First pet free, capped
Fee
“The first pet stays free of charge.” $15 per night for the second pet
Per pet or per room
Per pet: extra pets (at management discretion) are “$15 charge per pet per night”
Cap
“May not exceed $105 per pet for guests staying 7+ nights”
Deposit
FAQ: “The property may not require a pet deposit or charge additional pet fees, including cleaning fees, at check-in.” Damage can be charged
Exceptions
HomeTowne Studios and The Red Collection set their own policies

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official Red Roof pet policy

La Quinta by Wyndham

Per night, capped per room
Fee
“An optional pet fee may be charged at check-in ($25 per night for a max of $75 per room per stay)”
Per pet or per room
Per room (the cap is “per room per stay”)
Refundable?
“If a pet fee is charged, the fee is non-refundable”
Which hotels charge it?
Not stated — call property. The page calls it “optional”
Extra charges
Excessive cleaning or damage can be charged

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official La Quinta pet policy

Drury Hotels

Daily fee, no cap stated
Fee
Pet policy: “Rooms with pets will be charged a daily fee.” FAQ: “a minimum daily fee of $50 (varies by location)”
Per pet or per room
The policy says rooms with pets are charged. Whether a second pet costs more: Not stated — call property
Cap
Not stated — call property
Deposit
No pet deposit stated. Every guest gets a card hold that includes a $50 incidentals deposit ($100 at five listed hotels)
Emotional support animals
Treated as pets, so “the daily pet fee does apply”

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official Drury pet policyDrury FAQ

Choice: Comfort and Quality Inn

Nightly, per pet
Fee
“A nightly fee applies to each pet” (both brand pages). Amount set by each hotel
Per pet or per room
Per pet
Cap / deposit
Not on the brand pages. Not stated — call property
Caveat
“Pet policies vary by hotel.” Other Choice brands can differ: Sleep Inn Minot charges per stay (below)

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official Comfort pet policySee official Quality Inn pet policy

WoodSpring Suites (Choice extended stay)

Set by each hotel
Fee
FAQ: pet policies “(including pricing…)” are “set and enforced by the management for each hotel”
Deposit
“Some WoodSpring Suites properties may collect a deposit at check-in” (general, not pet-specific)

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See WoodSpring FAQ

Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

Set by each hotel
Fee
“Pet fees vary by location”
What we saw
Flat per stay, tiers by length of stay, per pet per night, and some refundable deposits (examples below)

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official Sonesta pet policy

Hilton

Set by each hotel
Fee
“Fees apply and vary by hotel”
What we saw
Hotel pages list a “Non-refundable fee”; the three we checked use $75 for 1–4 nights, $125 for 5+

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See Hilton’s official pet-friendly page

Marriott

Set by each hotel
Fee
“Fees, size, or weight limits, number of pets, and length of stay rules are set at the property level”
What we saw
Hotel pages list a “Non-Refundable Pet Fee Per Stay” and sometimes a per-night fee too

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See Marriott’s official pet-friendly page

IHG: Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Staybridge, Candlewood

Set by each hotel
Fee
IHG’s pet page lists no brand-wide fee. Its own checklist asks: “Does the hotel charge a pet fee (refundable or not) per night?”
What we saw
Hotel pages show fee fields (per night, per stay, damage deposit) that sometimes disagree with the hotel’s written policy (below)

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See IHG’s official pet-friendly page

Loews Hotels

Set by each hotel
Fee
“Additional cleaning fees and property-specific policies may apply.” Amount: Not stated — call property
Number of pets
Maximum two per room

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See official Loews pet page

Four Seasons

Set by each hotel
Fee
No brand pet page found. Four Seasons San Francisco: “does not charge a pet fee”; charges may apply for excessive cleaning or damage

Checked Nov 3, 2026 on the official site

See Four Seasons San Francisco pet policy

Deposits: refundable, non-refundable, or just a card hold

Few brand pages mention a pet deposit. Here’s what the official pages say, Nov 3, 2026:

Where official pages disagree about the fee

Read Nov 3, 2026. When a hotel’s written policy and its fee fields don’t match, ask the hotel which one it charges and get it on your reservation.

Holiday Inn Little Rock-Presidential-Dwntn, AR: one time or per night?

The written policy says “a one time 50 dollar nonrefundable cleaning fee” ($35 for IHG One Rewards members). The fee field says “Pet fee per night: 50 USD,” the features list says “50 USD / night,” and the highlights say “a small fee per pet.” (official page)

Candlewood Suites NYC Times Square, NY: fee or deposit?

The policy says a “nonrefundable fee of 75 USD for 1 to 6 nights and 150 USD for 7 or more nights.” The fields say “Pet fee per night: 75 USD” and “Pet damage deposit: 150 USD,” and the amenities text calls it a “Non-refundable pet deposit.” Pets must be under 25 lb. (official page)

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Airy, NC: per stay or nightly?

The policy text says “50 plus tax for the first 3 nights, then 25 plus tax each night following.” The fee field says “Pet fee per stay: 50 USD” and the features list says “50 USD / stay.” For 7 nights, that’s $150 by the text or $50 by the field. (official page)

Royal Sonesta Minneapolis Downtown, MN: per stay or per pet?

The pet section says “$100 fee per stay applies.” The same page’s FAQ says “USD 100 per pet, per stay.” With two dogs, that’s $100 or $200. (official page)

Hilton fee fields show one number for a tiered fee

Home2 Suites Denver South Centennial Airport lists “Non-refundable fee: $125.00” while its policy says “$75(1-4) $125(5 +)”; Hampton Memphis-Beale Street lists $75.00 with the same $75/$125 tiers in the text. Use the written policy and confirm. (Home2 Denver South · Hampton Memphis)

Service animals: no pet fee or deposit

ADA.gov says: “If a business requires a deposit or fee to be paid by patrons with pets, it must waive the charge for service animals.” It also says a hotel that normally charges guests for damage may charge for damage caused by a service animal. (ADA.gov: service animal requirements)

Emotional support animals are handled differently by chain. Red Roof doesn’t charge for them. Drury charges its daily pet fee. Sonesta applies its pet program terms. Other brand pages don’t say: Not stated — call property.

Before you book

Related guides

Where each fact comes from

All read Nov 3, 2026, directly on the chains’ and hotels’ own websites and ADA.gov. No search-engine copies or third-party listings were used. These are plain links to official pages, not affiliate links.

Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.