Rooms for the PackVerified hotel policies for big dogs & multi-dog families

Pet policy · Checked Nov 8, 2026

Service animals vs pets at hotels: what the ADA says

Short answer: Under the ADA, a service animal is a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability. Hotels must waive pet fees and deposits for it, can’t limit it by breed or size, can’t require paperwork, and may ask only two questions. You can still be charged for damage. Emotional support, therapy and comfort dogs are not service animals under the ADA, so the hotel’s pet policy (fees, weight limits, number of dogs) can apply. Drury charges ESAs its pet fee, Sonesta puts them under its pet program, and Red Roof lets them stay free.

At a glance

From ADA.gov and the ADA regulation for businesses open to the public (Title III), read Nov 8, 2026.

Service dog (ADA)

A dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability

No pet fee or deposit. Any breed and any size. Not limited to “pet-friendly” rooms. You can be charged for damage, like any guest.

Emotional support, therapy or comfort dog

Not a service animal under the ADA

ADA.gov: they “do not qualify as service animals under the ADA.” The hotel’s own policy decides. Some chains charge their pet fee; Red Roof doesn’t.

Service dog in training

Not covered by the ADA

ADA.gov: “the dog must already be trained before it can be taken into public places.” Some state or local laws cover dogs in training.

Pet dog

Hotel pet policy applies

Fees, weight limits, number of dogs and room rules are whatever the hotel sets. See our pet fees by chain.

Service dog vs emotional support dog vs pet, rule by rule

Left column: ADA.gov and 28 CFR 36.302(c). Right column: there is no single rule; it depends on the hotel’s pet policy (examples further down).

How hotel rules differ for ADA service dogs and for emotional support or pet dogs
QuestionADA service dogEmotional support or pet dog
Pet fee or pet deposit?NoA business that charges pet fees or deposits “must waive the charge for service animals”Usually yes, if the hotel charges petsExceptions: Red Roof (ESAs free); chains with no pet fee
Cleaning fee for hair or dander?NoADA.gov FAQ Q12Hotel pet policy
Charged for damage?Yes, if the hotel charges other guests for damageYes (hotel pet policy)
Weight, size or breed limit?No“Any breed and any size of dog” (ADA.gov)Hotel pet policy (often 2 dogs and a weight limit)
Only “pet-friendly” rooms?NoYou may reserve any available room (FAQ Q11)Often yes (hotel pet policy)
Paperwork, ID card or vest required?NoStaff can’t require documentation, certification or a vestHotel pet policy
Leave the dog alone in the room?NoFAQ Q29: not when you leave the hotel; the dog must be under your control at all timesHotel pet policy (Red Roof, Drury and Motel 6 say no)
Leash?Harness, leash or tether, unless your disability or the dog’s task prevents it; then voice or signal controlHotel pet policy (usually leash or carrier outside the room)
Lobby, restaurant, pool deck?Yes, anywhere the public can go. Not in the pool itself (FAQ Q33)Often not allowed (e.g., Drury, Red Roof, La Quinta pet rules)
More than one dog?Generally yes, if each is a service animal and both can be accommodated (FAQ Q13)Hotel pet policy (often 2 max)

What hotel staff can (and can’t) ask

When it isn’t obvious what a dog does, ADA.gov says staff may ask only two questions:

The two questions

  1. Is the dog a service animal required because of a disability?
  2. What work or task has the dog been trained to perform?

Staff can’t ask about your disability, require medical documentation, require a special ID card or training papers, or ask the dog to demonstrate its task. Under the regulation, staff generally shouldn’t ask even the two questions when it’s readily apparent the dog is doing a task, such as guiding a person who is blind. ADA.gov also says online service-animal “certification” or “registration” documents “do not convey any rights under the ADA.” (ADA.gov FAQ · 28 CFR 36.302(c)(6))

When a hotel can ask a service dog to leave

The regulation lists two reasons a business may ask that a service animal be removed:

“(i) The animal is out of control and the animal’s handler does not take effective action to control it; or (ii) The animal is not housebroken.” — 28 CFR 36.302(c)(2)

If a dog is properly excluded, the hotel must still offer you its services without the dog present. ADA.gov adds that a dog can’t be excluded based on assumptions about its breed, though a particular dog that poses a direct threat to others’ health or safety may be. One bark doesn’t make a dog “out of control”; repeated barking in a quiet place can. ADA.gov also says “allergies and fear of dogs are not valid reasons for denying access or refusing service.” (ADA.gov requirements · ADA.gov FAQ Q23, Q27)

What this means for big dogs

Pet weight limits (40 lb, 75 lb, 80 lb) are pet rules. ADA.gov’s topic page says service animals can be “any breed and any size of dog,” and the regulation’s only removal reasons are control and housebreaking. An emotional support dog, though, is not a service animal under the ADA, so a hotel’s pet weight limit can apply to it. If your big dog is an ESA, read the pet policy as if it were a pet. Our hotels for dogs over 80 lb guide covers those limits.

What each chain’s own pages say

Quoted or closely paraphrased from each chain’s official pages, re-read Nov 8, 2026. Green = the chain spells out both service animals and emotional support animals. Orange = service animals covered, ESAs not stated. Gray = neither stated on the page we read.

Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+

Service animals and ESAs: no charge
Service animals
Welcome at all Red Roof properties “for no additional charge”
Emotional support animals
Included with service animals as “Assistance Animals”: “not pets, and pet policies or pet requirements do not apply”
Assistance animal + a pet
No pet fee for the one pet (the $15/night fee applies only to non-assistance animals)
Note
Red Roof’s ESA policy goes beyond what the ADA requires. It’s a chain choice

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See official Red Roof pet policy

Drury Hotels

Service animals free; ESAs pay the pet fee
Service animals
“Welcome throughout the hotel at no additional charge”
Emotional support animals
Animals whose sole function is emotional support, comfort, therapy or companionship “are considered pets… Therefore, the daily pet fee does apply”
Pet rules that then apply
No more than 2 pets, 80 lb combined, daily fee, not left alone

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See official Drury pet policy

Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

Service animals free; ESAs under PAWS pet terms
Service animals
“No fee for service animals as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) that accompany registered guests”
Emotional support animals
“Not service animals under the ADA and will be subject to the terms of the PAWS program”
PAWS pet terms
Up to 2 pets; no breed or weight restrictions (brand page); “pet fees vary by location”

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See official Sonesta PAWS policy

La Quinta by Wyndham

Service animals: no pet fee
Service animals
“Authorized service animals are not subject to a pet fee”; also allowed in the breakfast area, fitness center and pool area where pets aren’t
Emotional support animals
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See official La Quinta pet policy

Loews Hotels

Service animals: exempt from fees
Service animals
Hotel FAQ (Loews Chicago, re-read Nov 8, 2026): “Service animals are exempt from fees.” Every Loews hotel FAQ we read on Nov 5, 2026 said the same
Emotional support animals
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See Loews Chicago Hotel FAQ

Marriott

Service animals: not considered pets
Service animals
“Accommodated in accordance with applicable laws and are not considered pets,” across the whole portfolio, separate from hotel pet policies
Emotional support animals
Not stated — call property (brand page doesn’t mention them)

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See Marriott’s official pet-friendly page

Hilton

Service animals: welcome
Service animals
Help center lists “Service animals are welcome” among accessible features (“Accessible features may vary by hotel”)
Fees for service animals
Not on that page. Federal rule: pet fees must be waived (see above)
Emotional support animals
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See Hilton’s accessible-features page

IHG: Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Staybridge, Candlewood, Hotel Indigo

Brand page silent
Brand page
IHG’s pet-friendly page doesn’t mention service animals or ESAs. Not stated — call property
Hotel example
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown: pet fee “excludes trained service animals but does apply for Emotional Support Animals” (see below)

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See IHG’s official pet-friendly page

Kimpton (IHG)

Brand page silent
Service animals and ESAs
Not mentioned on the brand pet page. Not stated — call property
Pet fee anyway?
Brand page: “No additional charge for pets, no deposit required”

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See official Kimpton pet policy

Motel 6

Page silent
Service animals and ESAs
Not mentioned on the pet page or its FAQ. Not stated — call property
Pet fee anyway?
“Motel 6 does not charge any pet fees” (FAQ)

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See official Motel 6 pet page

Not re-checked Nov 8, 2026: Best Western, Extended Stay America, Hyatt, Choice brand pages

These sites blocked automated page readers on Nov 8, 2026 (HTTP 403), so they aren’t in the cards above. Open the official page in your browser or call the hotel. (Choice hotel pages did load; one example is below.)

Two hotel pages that spell it out

Property-specific examples, re-read Nov 8, 2026. They are not brand rules.

Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, NC (IHG) (property-specific)

ESAs pay the pet fee
Pet policy text
“A non refundable fee of 75 dollars plux tax… This fee excludes trained service animals but does apply for Emotional Support Animals”
Weight
Pets up to 125 lb
Conflict
Text and the amenities blurb say $75 per stay; the fee field says “Pet fee per night: 75 USD.” Ask the hotel

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Quality Inn & Suites St Augustine Beach Area, FL (Choice) (property-specific)

Service animals free
Pets field
“Service animals are permitted, without charge”
Pet fee
$25 per night, per pet; max 2; no weight limit
Emotional support animals
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 8, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Where the wording differs

Read Nov 8, 2026.

Red Roof vs Drury on emotional support animals

Red Roof treats ESAs like service animals: no charge, and “pet policies… do not apply.” Drury says ESAs “are considered pets” and pay the daily pet fee. Both are chain choices; the ADA itself only says ESAs aren’t service animals. (Red Roof · Drury)

Pet rules vs service-dog rules on leashes and leaving the dog alone

Red Roof, Drury and La Quinta require pets to be on a leash or in a carrier, and Red Roof and Drury say not to leave pets alone in the room. For a service dog, the ADA rule is a harness, leash or tether unless your disability or the task prevents it, and ADA.gov’s FAQ says not to leave it in the room when you leave the hotel.

State laws, housing, and airlines are different

This page isn’t legal advice. It quotes or plainly paraphrases ADA.gov, the federal regulation and hotel pages as of Nov 8, 2026. For questions about your rights, the ADA Information Line is 800-514-0301 (voice) or 1-833-610-1264 (TTY). (ADA.gov topic page)

Before you book

Related guides

Where each fact comes from

All read Nov 8, 2026, directly on ADA.gov, eCFR and the chains’ own websites (WebFetch of the official URLs; curl for La Quinta and Loews page text and for HTTP status on blocked sites). No search-engine copies were used. These are plain links to official pages, not affiliate links.

Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.