Rooms for the PackVerified hotel policies for big dogs & multi-dog families

Pet policy · Checked Nov 4, 2026

How to ask a hotel to accept a big dog or an extra dog

Short answer: call the hotel itself, not central reservations, before you pay. Describe your dogs with their real weights, ask whether the weight limit is per dog or combined, ask if a manager can approve an extra dog, pin down the fee, and get the yes added to your reservation in writing. Some chains build this step in: Comfort says large dogs “must get approval prior to arrival,” and La Quinta says to confirm any weight limit “by calling the hotel at the time of booking.”

What the chains themselves tell you to do

From each brand’s own pet page, read Nov 4, 2026.

Get approval before you arrive

Comfort (Choice Hotels)

“Guests with large dogs must get approval prior to arrival.” The page doesn’t say what counts as large, so ask.

Call the hotel to confirm

La Quinta · Sonesta · Hilton

La Quinta: “Select locations may have a pet weight limit. Please confirm by calling the hotel at the time of booking.” Sonesta and Hilton say fees vary by hotel.

Firm brand rule in writing

Drury · Motel 6

Drury: 2 pets, 80 lb combined. Motel 6: 2 pets, 150 lb combined (FAQ). Neither page mentions exceptions: Not stated — call property.

Nothing to negotiate

Kimpton (IHG)

“No size/weight limit,” “no limit on number of pets,” no fee, no deposit (brand page). Still call: some Kimpton hotels list their own rules.

Not re-checked today: Red Roof, Marriott, Best Western, Extended Stay America, Hyatt

These sites blocked our automated page reader on Nov 4, 2026, so they’re left out above. Our earlier guides cover Red Roof, Marriott, Best Western and Extended Stay America, each with its own check date.

Why call the hotel, not the booking site

Most big chains don’t set one weight limit or pet count for every hotel. Hilton says pet “fees apply and vary by hotel.” Sonesta asks guests “to check with the individual hotel for details on applicable fees and policies.” Comfort says “pet policies vary by hotel.” The person who can say yes to a 110 lb dog or a third dog is at the front desk or the manager’s office of that one hotel.

So call the hotel’s own number (it’s on the hotel’s page on the chain’s website), not the brand’s central reservations line, and call before you pay.

The call script

Have your dogs’ real weights in front of you. Read this as written or put it in your own words.

  1. Say who you are and what you need.“Hi, I’m looking at booking [dates] and I’m traveling with [number] dogs. Could I check your pet policy before I book?”
  2. Describe the dogs honestly.“They’re a [breed], about [weight] lb, and a [breed], about [weight] lb. They’re house-trained and crate-trained.”
  3. Ask the weight question the right way.“Is your weight limit per dog or for all the dogs combined?” (Drury and Motel 6 count combined weight. A per-dog limit is a very different answer with two big dogs.)
  4. Ask about the count.“Your policy says two pets. Can the manager approve a third?”
  5. Pin down the money.“Is the pet fee per night or per stay, per dog or per room? Is there a maximum? Is there a deposit, and is it refundable?”
  6. Ask the day-to-day rules.“Can they stay in the room if I step out for dinner, if they’re crated? Do you have pet rooms on the ground floor or near an exit?”
  7. Get it in writing.“Could you add a note to my reservation saying [number] dogs, [weights], approved by [name]? Or email me a confirmation?”

Write down the name of the person you spoke to and the date. If they can’t approve it, ask who can and when they’ll be in.

The written rules you’re asking about

Quoted or closely paraphrased from each brand’s own pet page, read Nov 4, 2026.

Comfort Inn & Comfort Suites (Choice)

Approval needed for large dogs
Number of pets
“Up to two pets”
Weight
“A maximum weight per pet”; the number varies by hotel
Large dogs
“Must get approval prior to arrival”
Fee
“A nightly fee applies to each pet”; amount Not stated — call property
Other rules
Breed restrictions “may apply”; no pets on beds; common areas off-limits

Checked Nov 4, 2026 on the official site

See official Comfort pet policy

La Quinta by Wyndham

Call to confirm weight
Number of pets
“No more than two (2) domestic pets” per room
Weight
“Select locations may have a pet weight limit. Please confirm by calling the hotel at the time of booking”
Fee
Optional, $25 per night, max $75 per room per stay
Other rules
Tell the front desk at check-in you have a pet; some locations take no pets

Checked Nov 4, 2026 on the official site

See official La Quinta pet policy

Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

Check with the hotel on fees
Number of pets
“Up to two pets are permitted per room or suite”
Weight
“No breed or weight restrictions” (brand page)
Fee
“Pet fees vary by location”

Checked Nov 4, 2026 on the official site

See official Sonesta pet policy

Hilton

Set by each hotel
Brand page
Pets welcome at “over 5,000 hotels across the U.S. and Canada.” “Fees apply and vary by hotel”
Number / weight
Not on the brand page. Not stated — call property (see our Hilton guide)

Checked Nov 4, 2026 on the official site

See Hilton’s official pet-friendly page

Drury Hotels

Firm written limits
Number of pets
“No more than 2 pets per room”
Weight
“The total combined weight of the pets is not to exceed 80 lbs”
Fee
Daily fee per room with pets
Leaving pets alone
“Pets should not be left alone in your guest room at any time”
Exceptions
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 4, 2026 on the official site

See official Drury pet guidelines

Motel 6

Firm written limits
Number of pets
Up to two pets per room
Weight
FAQ: “combined weight does not exceed 150 lbs.” The same FAQ also says Motel 6 “generally… does not enforce strict breed or size restrictions”
Fee
No pet fees
Leaving pets alone
“Pets must not be left unattended”
Exceptions
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 4, 2026 on the official site

See official Motel 6 pet page

Kimpton (IHG)

No limits to ask about
Number of pets
“No limit on number of pets allowed”
Weight
“No size/weight limit”
Fee
“No additional charge for pets, no deposit required”

Checked Nov 4, 2026 on the official site

See official Kimpton pet policy

If your dog is a service animal

Pet limits don’t apply the same way. ADA.gov says a service animal is a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability, and that dogs whose sole function is comfort or emotional support don’t qualify. When it’s not obvious, staff may ask only two questions: whether the dog is a service animal required because of a disability, and what work or task it has been trained to perform. They can’t require documentation or an ID card. A business that charges pet fees or deposits “must waive the charge for service animals,” though a hotel may charge for damage. (ADA.gov: service animal requirements)

Drury’s guidelines say emotional support animals are treated as pets and pay the daily fee. Other chains’ brand pages we read today don’t say: Not stated — call property.

Before you book

Related guides

Where each fact comes from

All read Nov 4, 2026, directly on the chains’ own websites and ADA.gov. No search-engine copies or third-party listings. These are plain links to official pages, not affiliate links.

Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.