Rooms for the PackVerified hotel policies for big dogs & multi-dog families

Pet policy · Checked Nov 6, 2026

Hotels for dogs over 80 lb

Short answer: For a dog over 80 lb, start with chains whose brand pages say no weight limit: Kimpton and Sonesta (including Red Lion) — then read the hotel page, because some Sonesta hotels still set a lower limit. Motel 6 allows 150 lb combined, so one 90–120 lb dog fits the brand FAQ. Red Roof (80 lb per pet) and Drury (80 lb combined) are at or under that line, so an 81+ lb dog does not fit those brand rules. Hilton, Marriott, IHG, Choice, Loews, Four Seasons and La Quinta leave weight to each hotel.

At a glance

Five groups for dogs over 80 lb, from what each chain’s own pet page said on Nov 6, 2026.

Brand says no weight limit

Kimpton · Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

Kimpton: “No size/weight limit.” Sonesta PAWS: “no breed or weight restrictions,” up to 2 pets. Always read the hotel page: some Sonesta hotels set a lower limit.

Brand limit that can fit 80+

Motel 6

FAQ: up to 2 pets, 150 lb combined. One 90, 100 or 120 lb dog fits. Two big dogs usually don’t.

Brand limit too low for over 80

Red Roof · Drury

Red Roof: 80 lb per pet (at the line; over 80 = no). Drury: 80 lb combined (one 90 lb dog is already over).

Set by each hotel

Hilton · Marriott · IHG · Choice · Loews · Four Seasons · La Quinta

No brand-wide number that fits every 80+ dog. Some hotels list no limit or 150 lb; many list 40–75 lb. Call and give the weight.

Not re-checked today: Best Western, Extended Stay America, Hyatt

These sites blocked automated page readers on Nov 6, 2026 (HTTP 403), so we left them out of the groups above. Open the official page in your browser or call the hotel. (Earlier guides: Best Western listed 80 lb per dog; Extended Stay America uses a 36 in size limit, not weight. Hyatt is still blocked.)

Chain by chain: what fits a dog over 80 lb

Quoted or closely paraphrased from each chain’s own pet page, re-read Nov 6, 2026. Sorted from most likely to fit an 80+ lb dog to least.

Kimpton (IHG)

No weight limit
Weight
“No size/weight limit.” Pets welcome “no matter their size, weight, or breed”
Number of pets
“No limit on number of pets allowed” (brand page)
Fee / deposit
No additional charge, no deposit
Caveat
Individual hotel pages can list their own rules; still give the hotel your dog’s weight

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official Kimpton pet policy

Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

No brand weight limit
Weight
“No breed or weight restrictions” (PAWS page)
Number of pets
Up to 2 per room or suite
Fee
“Pet fees vary by location”
Caveat
Not every hotel matches. Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island lists dogs up to 40 lb. Sonesta Essential Indianapolis Airport lists 150 lb each

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official Sonesta PAWS policy

Motel 6

150 lb combined
Weight
FAQ: up to 2 pets “provided their combined weight does not exceed 150 lbs”
One big dog
A single dog up to 150 lb fits the brand FAQ
Two big dogs
Two 80+ lb dogs (160+ lb) are over the combined limit
Fee
No pet fee (FAQ)
Leaving pets alone
Not allowed (FAQ)
Conflict
The same FAQ also says Motel 6 “generally… does not enforce strict breed or size restrictions.” Treat 150 lb as the limit and ask the hotel

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official Motel 6 pet policy

Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+

80 lb per pet (at the line)
Weight
“Each pet must weigh no more than 80 pounds”
Over 80 lb?
No under the brand rule. An 81 lb dog is over
Number of pets
2 standard; more at management discretion
Fee
First pet free; $15/night each additional (max $105 per pet for 7+ nights)

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official Red Roof pet policy

Drury Hotels

80 lb combined
Weight
“The total combined weight of the pets is not to exceed 80 lbs”
Over 80 lb?
One 90 lb dog is already over on its own
Number of pets
No more than 2 per room
Fee
Daily fee (see our Drury guide)
Leaving pets alone
Not allowed

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official Drury pet policy

Hilton

Set by each hotel
Weight
Not on the brand pet page. “Fees apply and vary by hotel.” Not stated — call property
Where to look
The Pets section of each hotel’s hilton.com page (see our Hilton guide)
Example that fits 80+
The Leta Santa Barbara Goleta lists max weight 150 lb

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See Hilton’s official pet-friendly page

Marriott

Set by each hotel
Weight
“Fees, size, or weight limits, number of pets, and length of stay rules are set at the property level”
Where to look
Each hotel’s marriott.com listing (see our Marriott guide)

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See Marriott’s official pet-friendly page

IHG: Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Staybridge, Candlewood

Set by each hotel
Weight
IHG’s pet page lists no brand-wide weight number. Not stated — call property
Where to look
Pet policy fields on each hotel’s ihg.com page (see our Holiday Inn & IHG guide). Kimpton is the IHG exception
Examples with no weight limit
Holiday Inn Express Mount Airy, NC and Casa Grande, AZ both list “No weight limit per pet”

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See IHG’s official pet-friendly page

Choice: Comfort & Quality Inn

Set by each hotel
Weight
Brand pages: up to 2 pets “with a maximum weight per pet” (amount not stated)
Large dogs
“Guests with large dogs must get approval prior to arrival”
Example with no weight limit
Quality Inn & Suites St Augustine Beach Area lists “No weight limit”

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official Comfort pet policySee official Quality Inn pet policy

Loews Hotels

Set by each hotel
Weight
Not on the brand Loews Loves Pets page. “Property-specific policies may apply.” Not stated — call property
Number of pets
Maximum 2 per room; up-to-date vaccinations required
Note
Coronado Bay’s main page (checked for our Loews draft) says under 75 lb; most Loews pages leave weight unstated

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official Loews pet page

Four Seasons

Set by each hotel
Weight
Each hotel has its own pet page. San Francisco: no weight limit. Whistler: dogs “of any size.” Los Angeles: 60 lb per pet
Number of pets
2 per room at all three we read
Fee
No pet fee at all three

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See Four Seasons San Francisco pet policy

La Quinta by Wyndham

Set by each hotel
Brand page we could read
Welcomes dogs and cats in designated pet-friendly rooms at most hotel locations
Weight / fee on brand page
The detailed weight and fee bullets were not in the static HTML we could read on Nov 6, 2026. Not stated — call property
Hotel example
La Quinta Lincoln, CA lists dogs “60 pounds or less” — too low for an 80+ lb dog
Where to look
Call the hotel and give each dog’s weight (see our La Quinta guide)

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See official La Quinta pet-friendly page

Does a 90, 100 or 120 lb dog fit?

Our arithmetic from the official brand limits we re-read Nov 6, 2026. This is not a booking promise: hotels can set a lower limit, and Red Roof’s 80 lb is a hard per-pet ceiling.

Fit for one dog at 90, 100 and 120 lb
Chain / rule90 lb dog100 lb dog120 lb dog
Kimpton no size/weight limitFits brand ruleFits brand ruleFits brand rule
Sonesta PAWS no brand weight restrictionFits brand rule; check hotelFits brand rule; check hotelFits brand rule; check hotel
Motel 6 150 lb combinedFits (one dog)Fits (one dog)Fits (one dog)
Red Roof 80 lb per petOverOverOver
Drury 80 lb combinedOverOverOver
Hilton / Marriott / IHG / Choice / Loews / Four Seasons / La QuintaAsk the hotelAsk the hotelAsk the hotel

Two-dog arithmetic at Motel 6: two 70 lb dogs (140) fit the 150 lb combined FAQ; two 80 lb dogs (160) do not. At Red Roof, two dogs at exactly 80 lb each fit the per-pet rule, but anything over 80 lb per dog does not.

Hotels that explicitly allow 80+ lb or list no weight limit

These are property-specific examples, re-read on each hotel’s official page Nov 6, 2026. They are not brand rules, and they can change.

Kimpton Aertson Hotel, Nashville TN (property-specific)

No weight limit
Weight
“No weight limit per pet”
Pets
“NO_LIMIT pets allowed”; all pets
Fee / deposit
$0 / $0

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Kimpton Harper Hotel, Fort Worth TX (property-specific)

No weight limit
Weight
“Any number of pets are welcome regardless of size, weight, kind, or breed”
Fee / deposit
$0 / $0

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Sonesta Essential Indianapolis Airport, Plainfield IN (property-specific)

150 lb each, 2 pets
Weight
Pets “up to 150 pounds each, with no breed restrictions. Up to two pets”
Fee
$75 per pet, plus a $200 refundable pet deposit

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

The Leta Santa Barbara Goleta, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, CA (property-specific)

Max 150 lb
Weight
Max weight: 150 lb; max size: large
Fee
“Complimentary No Pet Fee”
Number of pets
Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, CA (property-specific)

No weight limit, 2 pets
Weight
“Up to two pets per room are permitted with no weight limit”; no size or breed restrictions
Fee
No pet fee
Leaving pets alone
Shouldn’t be left unattended

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Four Seasons Resort Whistler, BC (property-specific)

Any size, 2 pets
Weight
“Well-behaved dogs of any size or breed are welcome”
Pets
Maximum two cats or dogs; at least 6 months old and house-trained
Fee
No pet fee (damage charges listed: CAD 250 carpet, CAD 150 furniture)

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Airy, NC (property-specific)

No weight limit, 2 pets
Weight
“No weight limit per pet”
Pets
2; dogs and cats only
Fee
Text: $50 plus tax for the first 3 nights, then $25 plus tax each night

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Casa Grande, AZ (property-specific)

No weight limit, 2 pets
Weight
“No weight limit per pet”
Pets
2; all pets allowed
Fee
$25 per night, non-refundable
House rules
“No kennels allowed”

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Quality Inn & Suites St Augustine Beach Area, FL (property-specific)

No weight limit, 2 pets
Weight
“No weight limit”
Pets
Maximum 2 per room
Fee
$25 per night, per pet
Service animals
Permitted without charge

Checked Nov 6, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Counter-examples: brand says generous, hotel says smaller

Read Nov 6, 2026. A brand “no weight limit” line is not a guarantee at every hotel.

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, SC

Sonesta’s PAWS page says no breed or weight restrictions. This resort takes dogs up to 40 pounds, up to two pets, for $100 per day up to $300 per stay, and puts pet guests on the first floor. (official page)

Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, CA

Four Seasons San Francisco and Whistler welcome large dogs. Los Angeles allows a maximum of two pets no more than 60 pounds each (not applied to service animals). (official page)

La Quinta Inn & Suites Lincoln, CA

La Quinta’s brand page welcomes dogs at most locations, but this hotel’s page says you can bring a dog 60 pounds or less. An 80+ lb dog does not fit that hotel’s stated limit. (official page)

Red Roof’s 80 lb line

Red Roof allows pets “not to exceed 80 pounds per pet.” That is a ceiling, not a target. A Great Pyrenees or Mastiff that weighs 85–120 lb is over the brand rule even though the number looks “large-dog friendly” next to 40–50 lb caps elsewhere.

How to read weight rules for giant breeds

For more weight-limit comparisons, see hotels that allow large dogs and pet-friendly hotels with no weight limit. Traveling with two big dogs? See hotels that allow 2 large dogs.

Service animals

Pet weight limits and pet fees do not work the same way for service animals. ADA.gov says that if a business charges a pet fee or deposit, “it must waive the charge for service animals,” though a hotel that normally charges guests for damage may charge for damage a service animal causes. Under the ADA, a service animal is a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability. “Dogs whose sole function is to provide comfort or emotional support do not qualify.” (ADA.gov: service animal requirements)

Before you book

Related guides

Where each fact comes from

All re-read Nov 6, 2026, directly on the chains’ and hotels’ own websites and ADA.gov (WebFetch of the official URLs; curl used for HTTP status on blocked sites). No search-engine copies were used as primary sources. These are plain links to official pages, not affiliate links.

Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.