Rooms for the PackVerified hotel policies for big dogs & multi-dog families

Pet policy · Checked Nov 1, 2026

Hotels that allow 2 large dogs

Short answer: Kimpton and Sonesta (including Red Lion) are the only chains whose brand policy allows two pets with no weight limit. Red Roof allows 2 pets at 80 lb each, so two 80 lb dogs fit. Motel 6 (150 lb) and Drury (80 lb) count both dogs together, which rules out most pairs of large dogs at Drury. Hilton, Marriott, IHG, Choice, La Quinta, Loews and Four Seasons leave the weight rule to each hotel, so ask whether it’s per dog or combined.

At a glance

Four groups, based on what each chain’s own pet page says on Nov 1, 2026.

Two big dogs OK (brand-wide)

Kimpton · Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

No weight limit in the brand policy. Kimpton: no limit on number either. Sonesta: up to 2 pets. Some individual hotels still set their own rules.

Per-dog weight limit

Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+

2 pets, each up to 80 lb. Two 80 lb dogs fit; a 90 lb dog doesn’t.

Combined weight limit

Motel 6 · Drury

Both dogs are added together. Motel 6: 150 lb combined (FAQ). Drury: 80 lb combined, so two large dogs won’t fit.

Set by each hotel

La Quinta · Hilton · Marriott · IHG (Holiday Inn, Staybridge, Candlewood) · Choice · Loews · Four Seasons

No brand-wide weight number. Most allow 2 pets; whether the limit is per dog or combined depends on the hotel.

Not re-checked today: Best Western, Extended Stay America, Hyatt

These sites block automated page readers, so we couldn’t re-read their official pet pages on Nov 1, 2026 and left them out of the groups above. Check the official page in your browser or call the hotel. (Our earlier guides: Best Western, Extended Stay America.)

Per dog or combined: why it matters with two big dogs

A per-dog limit checks each dog on its own. A combined limit adds both dogs together. With two large dogs, that difference decides whether you can book at all. Here’s our arithmetic using each brand’s own published limit:

Do two dogs fit each brand weight limit?
Your two dogsRed Roof
80 lb each
Motel 6
150 lb total
Drury
80 lb total
2 × 40 lb80 lb totalFitsFitsFits
2 × 60 lb120 lb totalFitsFitsToo heavy
2 × 75 lb150 lb totalFitsFitsToo heavy
2 × 80 lb160 lb totalFitsToo heavyToo heavy
2 × 100 lb200 lb totalToo heavyToo heavyToo heavy

Kimpton and Sonesta set no brand weight limit, so any of these pairs fits their brand policy. Confirm with the hotel anyway; see the examples below. Motel 6’s FAQ also says it “generally… does not enforce strict breed or size restrictions,” which doesn’t match its 150 lb figure, so treat 150 lb as the limit and ask.

Chain by chain: number of pets and weight rule

Quoted or closely paraphrased from each chain’s own pet page, re-read Nov 1, 2026. Sorted from most to least room for two big dogs.

Kimpton (IHG)

2 big dogs OK
Number of pets
“No limit on number of pets allowed” (brand page)
Weight rule
“No size/weight limit”; pets welcome “no matter their size, weight, or breed”
Fee for 2 dogs
“No additional charge for pets, no deposit required”
Caveat
Hotel pages can differ. Kimpton Era Midtown lists 2 pets (of any size)

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official Kimpton pet policy

Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

2 big dogs OK
Number of pets
“Up to two pets are permitted per room or suite”
Weight rule
“No breed or weight restrictions” (brand PAWS page)
Fee for 2 dogs
“Pet fees vary by location.” Per pet or per room: Not stated — call property
Caveat
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island takes dogs up to 40 lb only

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official Sonesta pet policy

Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+

80 lb per dog
Number of pets
2 per room; more “at management discretion”
Weight rule
“not to exceed 80 pounds per pet”
Fee for 2 dogs
First pet free; $15/night for the second (max $105 per pet for 7+ nights)
Caveat
HomeTowne Studios and The Red Collection set their own policies; 2 listed hotels take no pets

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official Red Roof pet policy

Motel 6

150 lb combined
Number of pets
Up to 2 per room
Weight rule
FAQ: “provided their combined weight does not exceed 150 lbs”
Fee for 2 dogs
Free
Conflicts
The same FAQ says it “generally… does not enforce strict breed or size restrictions.” The page says “every location” welcomes pets; the FAQ says “participating locations”

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official Motel 6 pet policy

Drury Hotels

80 lb combined
Number of pets
“No more than 2 pets per room”
Weight rule
“The total combined weight of the pets is not to exceed 80 lbs”
Fee for 2 dogs
“Rooms with pets will be charged a daily fee” (amount: see our Drury guide)
Leaving pets alone
Not allowed

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official Drury pet policy

La Quinta by Wyndham

Some hotels set one
Number of pets
“No more than two (2) domestic pets are allowed per room”
Weight rule
No brand-wide limit. “Select locations may have a pet weight limit.” Per dog or combined: Not stated — call property
Fee for 2 dogs
Optional, $25/night, max $75 per room per stay

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official La Quinta pet policy

Choice: Comfort, Quality Inn and more

Per dog, amount varies
Number of pets
Up to 2 (Comfort and Quality Inn brand pages)
Weight rule
“A maximum weight per pet”; the amount varies by hotel. “Guests with large dogs must get approval prior to arrival”
Fee for 2 dogs
“A nightly fee applies to each pet”

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official Comfort pet policySee official Quality Inn pet policy

Hilton

Set by each hotel
Number of pets
Not on the brand page. Not stated — call property
Weight rule
Not on the brand page; “Fees apply and vary by hotel.” Hotels we checked use both per-pet and combined limits (below)

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See Hilton’s official pet-friendly page

Marriott

Set by each hotel
Number of pets
Set per hotel: “Fees, size, or weight limits, number of pets, and length of stay rules are set at the property level”
Where to look
Each hotel’s marriott.com listing (see our Marriott guide)

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See Marriott’s official pet-friendly page

IHG: Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Staybridge, Candlewood

Set by each hotel
Number of pets / weight
IHG’s pet page lists no brand-wide rule. Not stated — call property
Where to look
The “Pet policy” fields on each hotel’s ihg.com page (see our Holiday Inn & IHG guide)

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See IHG’s official pet-friendly page

Loews Hotels

Set by each hotel
Number of pets
“A maximum of two pets per room”; up-to-date vaccinations required
Weight rule
Not on the brand page; “property-specific policies may apply.” Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See official Loews pet page

Four Seasons

Set by each hotel
Number of pets
2 per room at the three hotels we checked
Weight rule
San Francisco: no weight limit. Whistler: dogs “of any size.” Los Angeles: 60 lb each

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See Four Seasons San Francisco pet policy

Hotel by hotel: two-dog examples

In chains that set rules hotel by hotel, the hotel’s own page is what counts. These are property-specific examples, read on each hotel’s official page Nov 1, 2026. They are not brand rules, and they can change.

Two pets, no weight limit listed

Kimpton Era Midtown, New York NY (property-specific)

2 pets, any size
Policy
“The standard pet policy welcomes two pets of any size for no additional fee”
Weight
No weight limit per pet
Fee / deposit
$0 / $0

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Kimpton Aertson Hotel, Nashville TN (property-specific)

No limit listed
Pets
No limit on number listed (“NO_LIMIT pets allowed”)
Weight
No weight limit per pet
Fee / deposit
$0 / $0

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, CA (property-specific)

2 pets, no weight limit
Policy
“Up to two pets per room are permitted with no weight limit”; no size or breed restrictions
Fee
No pet fee (charges may apply for excessive cleaning or damage)
Leaving pets alone
Shouldn’t be left unattended

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Four Seasons Resort Whistler, BC (property-specific)

2 pets, any size
Policy
“A maximum of two cats or dogs per room”; “dogs of any size or breed are welcome”
Fee
No pet fee; set charges if damage occurs (carpet CAD 250, furniture CAD 150)

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Airy, NC (property-specific)

2 pets, no weight limit
Policy
2 pets; dogs and cats only; “No weight limit per pet”
Fee
Text: $50 plus tax for the first 3 nights, then $25 plus tax each night. The fee field says $50 per stay, so ask

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Quality Inn & Suites St Augustine Beach Area, FL (property-specific)

2 pets, no weight limit
Policy
“Maximum 2 pets per room. No weight limit”
Fee
$25 per night, per pet

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Quality Inn & Suites Green Bay - Ashwaubenon, WI (property-specific)

2 dogs, no size limit
Policy
Dogs only; “Maximum 2 pets per room. No limit on the Size of the Pet”
Fee
$30 per pet per night

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Same chain, different math: per pet vs combined

Three Hilton hotels with similar fees treat 75 lb differently, and one lists 150 lb.

Home2 Suites Denver South Centennial Airport, CO (property-specific)

2 pets, 150 lb
Policy
“2 pets Max dog/cat only”
Weight
Max weight 150 lb (max size: large). Per pet or combined: Not stated — call property
Fee
$75 for 1–4 nights, $125 for 5+; non-refundable

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street, TN (property-specific)

2 pets, 75 lb each
Policy
“Maximum of 2 pets per room (dog or cat only, 75 lbs. max per pet)”
Fee
$75 for 1–4 nights, $125 for 5+; non-refundable

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Hampton Inn Los Angeles-Orange County-Cypress, CA (property-specific)

2 pets, 75 lb combined
Policy
“2 pets max dog or cat only. A combined 75-pound weight limit is allowed”
Fee
$75 plus tax for 1–4 nights, $125 plus tax for 5+

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Homewood Suites Edgewater-NYC Area, NJ (property-specific)

2 pets, 75 lb combined
Policy
“2pets Max 75lb combined weight, dog/cat only”
Conflict
The same page’s “Max weight” field says 37 lb. Ask the hotel which applies
Fee
$75 (1–4 nights), $125 (5+ nights), per pet

Checked Nov 1, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Two more reminders that a generous brand policy isn’t a guarantee: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island hosts dogs up to 40 lb (official page), and Four Seasons Hotel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills allows 2 pets that “each weigh no more than 60 pounds” (official page).

What a second dog costs

Fees can be per room or per pet, which matters once you bring two:

For more on weight, see hotels that allow large dogs and pet-friendly hotels with no weight limit. Traveling with three or more dogs? See hotel chains that allow 3 or more dogs.

Before you book

Where each fact comes from

All read Nov 1, 2026, directly on the chains’ and hotels’ own websites. No search-engine copies or third-party listings were used as sources. These are plain links to official pages, not affiliate links.

Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.