Rooms for the PackVerified hotel policies for big dogs & multi-dog families

Pet policy · Checked Nov 7, 2026

Combined vs per-dog weight limits explained

Short answer: An “80 lb limit” can mean two very different things. Red Roof checks each pet (80 lb per pet), so two 80 lb dogs fit. Drury uses 80 lb combined, so two 50 lb dogs fail. Motel 6 uses 150 lb combined in its FAQ. Kimpton and Sonesta publish no brand weight limit (some hotels still set one). Hilton, Marriott, IHG, Choice, Loews and La Quinta leave the number — and often whether it’s per dog or combined — to each hotel.

At a glance

Four ways hotel brands write weight rules, from pages we re-read Nov 7, 2026.

Per-pet / per-dog limit

Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+

“Each pet must weigh no more than 80 pounds.” Two 80 lb dogs fit; one 90 lb dog does not.

Combined / total limit

Motel 6 · Drury

Motel 6 FAQ: 150 lb combined. Drury: 80 lb combined. Both dogs are added together.

No brand weight limit

Kimpton · Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

Kimpton: “No size/weight limit.” Sonesta PAWS: “no breed or weight restrictions,” up to 2 pets. Some hotels still set a lower limit.

Set by each hotel / brand silent

Hilton · Marriott · IHG · Choice · Loews · La Quinta

No brand-wide pound figure that settles per dog vs combined. Choice Comfort/Quality say “maximum weight per pet” without naming the number.

Not re-checked today: Best Western, Extended Stay America, Hyatt

These sites blocked automated page readers on Nov 7, 2026 (HTTP 403), so we left them out of the groups above. Open the official page in your browser or call the hotel. (Earlier guides: Best Western listed 80 lb per dog; Extended Stay America uses a 36 in size limit, not weight. Hyatt is still blocked.)

How to read a weight rule

The same number — especially 80 lb — can mean two different booking outcomes. Look for these words on the hotel’s own page:

When you call, say both dogs’ real weights in pounds, then ask: “Is that limit per dog or for both dogs combined?”

Will your dogs fit? (our arithmetic)

Using the three brand rules we re-read Nov 7, 2026: Red Roof 80 lb per pet, Motel 6 150 lb combined, Drury 80 lb combined. This is not a booking promise — hotels can set a lower limit, and Motel 6’s FAQ also has a conflicting “no strict size restrictions” line (see callouts).

One dog and two dogs vs Red Roof, Motel 6 and Drury weight rules
Your dogsRed Roof
80 lb each
Motel 6
150 lb combined
Drury
80 lb combined
1 × 40 lbFitsFitsFits
1 × 60 lbFitsFitsFits
1 × 75 lbFitsFitsFits
1 × 80 lbFitsFitsFits
1 × 100 lbOverFitsOver
2 × 40 lb (80 total)FitsFitsFits
2 × 60 lb (120 total)FitsFitsOver
2 × 75 lb (150 total)FitsFitsOver
2 × 80 lb (160 total)FitsOverOver
2 × 100 lb (200 total)OverOverOver

The insight in one line: two 80 lb dogs fit Red Roof and fail Motel 6 and Drury; one 100 lb dog fails Red Roof and Drury but fits Motel 6’s combined FAQ.

Chain by chain: how the weight rule is written

Quoted or closely paraphrased from each chain’s own pet page, re-read Nov 7, 2026.

Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+

80 lb per pet
Weight wording
“not to exceed 80 pounds per pet” / FAQ: “Each pet must weigh no more than 80 pounds”
Type
Per pet
Number of pets
2 standard; more at management discretion
Fee
First pet free; $15/night each additional (max $105 per pet for 7+ nights)
Leaving pets alone
Not allowed, except emergency with front-desk notice

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official Red Roof pet policy

Motel 6

150 lb combined (FAQ)
Weight wording
FAQ: up to two pets “provided their combined weight does not exceed 150 lbs”
Type
Combined
Fee
No pet fees (FAQ)
Leaving pets alone
“Pets must not be left unattended”
Conflict
The same FAQ says Motel 6 “generally… does not enforce strict breed or size restrictions.” Treat 150 lb as the limit and ask the hotel

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official Motel 6 pet policy

Drury Hotels

80 lb combined
Weight wording
“The total combined weight of the pets is not to exceed 80 lbs”
Type
Combined
Number of pets
No more than 2 per room
Fee
Daily fee (see our Drury guide)
Leaving pets alone
Not allowed

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official Drury pet policy

Kimpton (IHG)

No weight limit
Weight wording
“No size/weight limit”; pets welcome “no matter their size, weight, or breed”
Number of pets
“No limit on number of pets allowed” (brand page)
Fee / deposit
No additional charge, no deposit
Caveat
Individual hotel pages can still list their own rules

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official Kimpton pet policy

Sonesta (incl. Red Lion)

No brand weight limit
Weight wording
“No breed or weight restrictions” (PAWS)
Number of pets
Up to 2 per room or suite
Fee
“Pet fees vary by location”
Caveat
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island lists dogs up to 40 lb

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official Sonesta PAWS policy

Choice: Comfort & Quality Inn

“Maximum weight per pet” (amount varies)
Weight wording
Comfort and Quality Inn: up to two pets “with a maximum weight per pet”; amount not stated on the brand pages
Type cue
The phrase “per pet” points to a per-dog check, but the pound figure is hotel-set
Large dogs
“Guests with large dogs must get approval prior to arrival”
Fee
“A nightly fee applies to each pet”

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official Comfort pet policySee official Quality Inn pet policy

La Quinta by Wyndham

Some hotels set a limit
Number of pets
“No more than two (2) domestic pets are allowed per room”
Weight wording
“Select locations may have a pet weight limit.” Per dog or combined: Not stated — call property
Fee
Optional $25/night, max $75 per room per stay

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official La Quinta pet policy

Hilton

Set by each hotel
Brand page
“Fees apply and vary by hotel.” No brand-wide weight number. Not stated — call property
Where to look
The Pets section of each hotel’s hilton.com page (see our Hilton guide)
Per vs combined
Hotels in the same chain use both wordings — examples below

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See Hilton’s official pet-friendly page

Marriott

Set by each hotel
Brand page
“Fees, size, or weight limits, number of pets, and length of stay rules are set at the property level”
Where to look
Each hotel’s marriott.com listing (see our Marriott guide)

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See Marriott’s official pet-friendly page

IHG: Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Staybridge, Candlewood

Set by each hotel
Brand page
IHG’s pet-friendly page lists no brand-wide pound figure. Not stated — call property
Where to look
Pet policy fields on each hotel’s ihg.com page (see our Holiday Inn & IHG guide). Kimpton is the IHG exception with a brand “no size/weight limit” line

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See IHG’s official pet-friendly page

Loews Hotels

Set by each hotel
Number of pets
“A maximum of two pets per room is permitted”; up-to-date vaccinations required
Weight
Not on the Loews Loves Pets brand page. “Additional cleaning fees and property-specific policies may apply.” Not stated — call property

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See official Loews pet page

Same chain, different math: Hilton hotel wording

These four Hilton hotels show why you cannot assume “75 lb” means the same thing twice. Brand page re-read Nov 7, 2026; individual hilton.com hotel pages returned HTTP 403 tonight, so the property quotes below are carried carefully from our Nov 1, 2026 direct reads and flagged.

Home2 Suites Denver South Centennial Airport, CO (property-specific)

2 pets, 150 lb
Policy (Nov 1 read)
“2 pets Max dog/cat only”
Weight
Max weight 150 lb (max size: large). Per pet or combined: Not stated — call property
Fee
$75 for 1–4 nights, $125 for 5+; non-refundable
Recheck note
Not re-checked Nov 7, 2026 (hilton.com hotel page HTTP 403). Quote from Nov 1, 2026 direct read.

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street, TN (property-specific)

2 pets, 75 lb each
Policy (Nov 1 read)
“Maximum of 2 pets per room (dog or cat only, 75 lbs. max per pet)”
Type
Per pet
Fee
$75 for 1–4 nights, $125 for 5+; non-refundable
Recheck note
Not re-checked Nov 7, 2026 (HTTP 403). Quote from Nov 1, 2026 direct read.

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Hampton Inn Los Angeles-Orange County-Cypress, CA (property-specific)

2 pets, 75 lb combined
Policy (Nov 1 read)
“2 pets max dog or cat only. A combined 75-pound weight limit is allowed”
Type
Combined
Fee
$75 plus tax for 1–4 nights, $125 plus tax for 5+
Recheck note
Not re-checked Nov 7, 2026 (HTTP 403). Quote from Nov 1, 2026 direct read.

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Homewood Suites Edgewater-NYC Area, NJ (property-specific)

2 pets, 75 lb combined
Policy (Nov 1 read)
“2pets Max 75lb combined weight, dog/cat only”
Conflict
The same page’s “Max weight” field said 37 lb. Ask the hotel which applies
Fee
$75 (1–4 nights), $125 (5+ nights), per pet
Recheck note
Not re-checked Nov 7, 2026 (HTTP 403). Quote from Nov 1, 2026 direct read.

Checked Nov 7, 2026 on the official site

See this hotel’s official pet info

Where the wording conflicts or leaves gaps

Read Nov 7, 2026 unless noted. When pages disagree, confirm by phone.

Motel 6: 150 lb combined vs “no strict size restrictions”

The FAQ says pets may stay “provided their combined weight does not exceed 150 lbs,” and the same FAQ says Motel 6 “generally… does not enforce strict breed or size restrictions.” Treat 150 lb as the working limit and ask the hotel. (official Motel 6 pet page)

Sonesta PAWS vs Hilton Head 40 lb

Sonesta’s PAWS page says “no breed or weight restrictions.” Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island hosts dogs up to 40 pounds, up to two pets, for $100 per day up to $300 per stay. (PAWS · Hilton Head resort page)

Red Roof 80 per pet vs Drury 80 combined

Both use the number 80. Red Roof checks each pet; Drury adds every pet in the room. Two 50 lb dogs fit Red Roof and fail Drury.

La Quinta and Loews: limit may exist, wording silent

La Quinta says select locations may have a weight limit but does not say whether that limit is per dog or combined. Loews’ brand page does not mention weight at all. Not stated — call property.

Service animals

Pet weight limits and pet fees do not work the same way for service animals. ADA.gov says that if a business charges a pet fee or deposit, “it must waive the charge for service animals,” though a hotel that normally charges guests for damage may charge for damage a service animal causes. Under the ADA, a service animal is a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability. “Dogs whose sole function is to provide comfort or emotional support do not qualify.” (ADA.gov: service animal requirements)

Before you book

Related guides

Where each fact comes from

Brand pages re-read Nov 7, 2026, directly on the chains’ own websites and ADA.gov (WebFetch of the official URLs; curl used for HTTP status on blocked sites). No search-engine copies were used as primary sources. Hilton hotel-page quotes are flagged as Nov 1, 2026 reads because those URLs returned HTTP 403 tonight. These are plain links to official pages, not affiliate links.

Every value comes from the chain's own website, checked on the date shown. "Not stated — call property" means the official source doesn't say. Policies change and individual hotels can differ, so confirm with the hotel before you book.